The Ripley Church of the Nazarene got its start early in 1974 when Thursday evening services were begun in the home of Mr. and Mrs. Jack Simpson on 3rd Avenue. The meetings were soon moved to a larger room behind Mendy Dawn’s Beauty Salon on Church Street.

On March 1, 1974, Rev. Raymond Pyle came as the first pastor and on St. Patrick’s Day, March 17, 1974, the first Sunday School and Sunday Morning Worship Services were held. On Mother’s Day, May 12, 1974, the church was officially organized with 24 charter members.

On May 22, 1974, the present church property was purchased, and nine months later ground was broken for the present church building. On June 29, 1975, the congregation moved into the downstairs of the new building, and on October 5, 1975, the first services were held. The Church Dedication Service took place on July 18, 1976, and the Mortgage Burning was October 21, 1990.

In the fall of 1985 property was purchased for the parsonage at 402 Cedar Crest Drive. Construction soon began with Jerry Southall as contractor. In 1986, Pastor David Miller and his family moved into the new parsonage.

On October 21, the church concluded a Celebration Weekend with a Mortgage Burning Ceremony, Rev. Eddie Estep Pastor and Rev. John Dennis, District Superintendent presided over this celebration.

In April 1998 excavation for a new 42 x 135 parking lot and access driveways along the north side of the church lot and across the front of the church was begun, with Robert Monk and Roy Vannest spear-heading the efforts. The lot and drives were dedicated on June 14, 1998.

We thank God for these blessings and memories, but the true history of our church is in its people, their ministry of Christ’s love, the souls won to Christ, and the lives changed through faith in our Risen Lord. Our church family has grown only as we have obediently allowed the Holy Spirit to work in and through us. May we continue to follow in Christ’s footsteps of faith and service.



  People responsibleChurch Ground Breakers:
Dr. M. E. Clay (District Superintendent)
Rev. Raymond Pyle (Pastor)
Vernon Jones (Trustee)
George Pittman (Trustee)
Jarrell Snodgrass (Trustee)
Church Contractor: Vernon Jones
Church Construction Laborer: Jerry Southall,
Parsonage Contractor: Jerry Southall
Raymond Pyle  03/01/74 – 03/31/75 = 1 yr. 1 mon.
Kenneth Morton 06/18/75 – 12/01/78 = 3 yrs. 5 mos.
David Miller  01/28/79 – 06/01/87 = 8 yrs. 4 mos.
Eddie Estep  07/12/87 – 03/10/91 = 3 yrs. 7 mos.
Bradley Shaffer 04/28/91 – 06/01/94 = 3 yrs. 1 mon.
Josh Lively  07/03/94 – 10/15/95 = 1 yr. 3 mos.
Dennis Shirer  01/05/96 – 03/26/00 = 4 yrs. 2 mos.
Jerry Dooley  08/09/00 – 12/2/07 = 7 yrs. 3 mos.
Jay Vestal  02/18/08 – 12/16/11 = 3 yrs. 9 mos
Kristopher Powell 12/02/12 – Present
Charter Members:
Kim Drennen   George Pittman  Ronald L. Sharpes
Gary Dunlap     Laura Pittman     Jack Simpson
Janet Dunlap   Connie Pyle        Jackie Simpson
Wanda Dunlap  Raymond Pyle   Patricia Simpson
Mary Jones     Brenda Sharps    
Delphine Snodgrass
Rick Jones    Jean Sharps     Jarrell Snodgrass
Sherry Jones  Rebecca Sharps  Katherine Turner
Vernon Jones  Ronald Sharps   Sherry Willis